Materials Research Society Announces 2014 MRS Fellows

Materials Research Society | Published: 05 March 2014

WARRENDALE, PA – [March 5, 2014] – The Materials Research Society (MRS) will recognize the following 22 members (in alpha order) as Fellows of the Materials Research Society at the 2014 MRS Spring Meeting in San Francisco. This recognition honors MRS members who are notable for their distinguished accomplishments and their outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research, worldwide.


  • Joanna Aizenberg, Harvard University
  • Alexander Balandin, University of California, Riverside
  • Anna C. Balazs, University of Pittsburgh
  • Zhenan Bao, Stanford University
  • James J. De Yoreo, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Leonard C. Feldman, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Nasr M. Ghoniem, University of California, Los Angeles
  • David S. Ginley, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Alfred Grill, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
  • Supratik Guha, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
  • Ralph B. James, University of Melbourne, Australia, and Commonwealth Scientific Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO)
  • Quanxi Jia, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • William L. Johnson, California Institute of Technology
  • Nicholas A. Kotov, University of Michigan
  • David C. Larbalestier, Florida State University &  National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
  • Cato T. Laurencin, University of Connecticut
  • Seth R. Marder, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Michael F. Rubner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Henning Sirringhaus, University of Cambridge
  • Susanne Stemmer, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Julia R.Weertman, Northwestern University
  • Su-Huai Wei, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

A list of the honorees, along with brief citations that highlight their remarkable accomplishments can be found at

MRS is fortunate to enjoy the dynamic membership of such outstanding contributors to the progress of materials research and is confident that the examples of excellence, enterprise and dedication displayed by this steadily growing community of MRS Fellows will serve to encourage and inspire all materials researchers, at all levels, and will also support and enhance the prestige and recognition of materials research in serving the broader community.

Nominations will soon be accepted for the 2015 MRS Fellows. For information on nomination guidelines and eligibility, visit Deadline for nominations is August 1, 2014.

Photos of 2014 MRS Fellows available upon request at

Comments (0)

Please log in to your MRS account to comment using the Log-in button at the top of this page. You can create an MRS account here.

Related Content

  • No related news.